The United States Social Security Administration (SSA) is an independent agency of the United States federal government that administers Social Security, a social insurance program consisting of retirement, disability, and survivors’ benefits.SSA is headquartered in Woodlawn, Maryland at what is known as Central Office. The agency includes 10 regional offices, 8 processing centers,approximately 1300 field offices, and 37 Teleservice Centers. As of 2007 , about 62,000 people were employed by the SSA.